HALF WAY THERE!

Standard

Finally I have a computer I can sit down and use.  It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted an update. As a matter of fact I haven’t posted since I’ve been in treatment, and now I am half way done.  Not too many horrific side effects for me, but enough to make me look forward to when this is over! Of course, ALL my hair is gone, I still have lashes and eyebrows. Fatigue, fatigue, fatigue! Can you say fatigue? That is my biggest challenge and it is due mostly to me [already] being anemic. Normal red blood cell counts should be between 12 and 15.5. I started at 9.5 even before chemo treatments.

By the time my 4th treatment was due, my red blood cell count was down to 8.4. I had also developed a bladder infection, and what sounded to be a virus when the doctor listened to my lungs. Because of the anemia, my doctor had me sign a consent in case I needed a blood transfusion, for the bladder infection she gave me a 3 day supply of Cipro,  and for the virus (cold) she postponed my 4th treatment for a week. It worked wonders!!! When I went back the next week, the infection was cleared, the cold gone and my blood count was back up to 9. I have to say this past two weeks I have been feeling very very good!

Tomorrow will be my 5th treatment and the start of a new medicine “Taxol”. It is said to be a lot less toxic than the first part of the treatment. So I am looking forward to feeling better and better. Oh yes, the lump in my left breast has shrank so far from 4.5 cm to about 1.5 cm. And you can barely find the lymph-node under my arm. So the plan is working. I see the surgeon in November. His hope is that the lump is small enough to remove and spare the breast. My hope is to be cancer free. In other words ‘by any means necessary’ lol.

My friends and family have really been supportive! My daughter and two of my first cousins are sporting baldies and say they will keep them until I’m done with treatment. My children have been the best! My husband spoils me, although I know I get on his nerves. He has volunteered to be my designated “punching” bag  in times of frustration, but I try not to punch too hard or too often.. 😉 I will let you all know how the new treatments are working out and I will try to update at least once a week and maybe little short updates on a daily basis. so until next time…TO GOD BE THE GLORY…. 🙂

 

About Shelly

Hello, my name is shelly and I was recently diagnosed with breast cancer. I love to write so I decided to keep a journal. I also thought, creating a public blog would be a good idea to keep my family and friends up to date with my process. Just for the record, I truly believe Jehovah will deliver me from this disease that has devastated so many lives. I hope that others in similar situations will be encouraged.

One response »

  1. Shelly: This sum up my Description of my HERO which is you …

    Maybe you can’t always see it. But I can.
    The real you. The person inside you.
    The one with the strength, the courage,
    and the caring heart. Yes, the real you.
    when you look at yourself in the mirror,
    you probably catch glimpses of worry
    or self-doubt or not-exactly-perfect.
    The truth is, everybody feels that way sometimes!
    And that’s why I’m inviting you
    to look through my eyes, instead.
    Shut out the critical voice inside you,
    and listen instead to my description
    of the you I know …
    You have a spirit within you
    that shines like a light
    through whatever experience
    you may be having, no matter how difficult.
    And because you have it,
    you keep on going.

    ~OTHERS CAN SEE IT,~
    even when you can’t.

    ~OTHERS NOTICE IT~
    more than you think

    ~ OTHERS ADMIRE IT~
    more than you realize

    ESPECIALLY ME…SO LOVE YOU SIS!

Leave a Reply

