IN THE BEGINNING (PART 2, The Tests)

Standard

On Tuesday, May, 23rd, I went for a diagnostic mammogram and ultrasound. It really wasn’t that bad, but I didn’t learn much, except that there was another small lump and a couple of swollen lymphnodes under my left arm. Next step: a core biopsy of the two lumps and a fine needle biopsy of the lymphnodes. I was assured that the biopsy would definitely indicate whether or not there was something going on with these lumps.

On Thursday, May, 25th, two days after the first two test, I recieved two ultrasound guided biopsies of my left boobie 🙂 and a fine needle aspiration of the lymphnodes. Again, the staff was friendly and courteous, and the surgery was much less extensive than I expected. After the procedure was done, I was told that the radiologist would call me with the results within the next five business days.

During the wait, I enjoyed a nice Memorial Day weekend with my family and friends, and to my own surprise, I was able to keep from spilling the beans!  lol. Tuesday came, and the radiologist called me with the results. The smaller of the two lumps was benign and the larger lump was definitely cancer. Unfortunately, the swelling of my lymphnode was due to the cancer spreading. The next step: see the surgeon.

That Friday, I was in the surgeon’s office. I was told, I have the choice of a total mastectomy or spare the breast and just remove the lump. Ok, my question; why would I have my whole brest removed, if I have the option of just removing the lump His answer: because it is a higher risk of the cancer returning should I decide to spare the breast. But I have a little bit of decision time because due to the cancer spreading to the lymphnodes, I have to be given a PET Scan to see if it has spreaded to any other parts of the body.

Well, to bring you completely up to date, yesterday was my PET scan and an MRI was done just this morning. The results will be in by Monday and I will talk with the surgeon once again: this time to find out whether or not the cancer has spread and the treatment options available to me. Prayerfully, it has not spread beyond the lymphnodes, but if it has, it’s a small feat for my Father and the amazing things He does through His Son and His Holy Spirit!!!

Of course I have no idea of what the process of this journey will intale, but I can honestly say that I believe I will come out on the other side victoriously and my Father will certainly be glorified! So until my next post, which will probably be Tuesday or shortly after, I love you and I appreciate your decision to go with me through this challenging, yet victorious journey!!!! Thanks, love Shelly 🙂

About Shelly

Hello, my name is shelly and I was recently diagnosed with breast cancer. I love to write so I decided to keep a journal. I also thought, creating a public blog would be a good idea to keep my family and friends up to date with my process. Just for the record, I truly believe Jehovah will deliver me from this disease that has devastated so many lives. I hope that others in similar situations will be encouraged.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Shelly, first I want to say thank you for inviting me to share this journey with you. I will keep you in prayer and I know you will come out on top. I am so glad that there was assistance out there for you to get the testing & treatment needed. I am here to support you in any way possible, you have always been positive showed amazing strength and courage and I see that come through on this blog. Thank you for sharing something so personal and encouraging others to get tested. I am approaching 38 and I’ve never had a mammogram but I will now. Stay strong Shelly. Love, Paulette

Leave a Reply

